National Assessment and Accreditation Council

The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) is an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India. To address the issues of quality, the National Policy on Education (1986) and the Plan of Action (POA-1992) advocated the establishment of an independent national accreditation body. Consequently, the NAAC was established in 1994 with its headquarters at Bangalore.

Mercy College is totally committed to the cause of promoting Academic excellence apart from ensuring quality education to women learners. With this end in view, the college opted for NAAC Accreditation in the year 2000 (which was the first college under the University of Calicut to go for NAAC accreditation) & was awarded Four Star status. Subsequently, following the suggestions made by the NAAC peer team, a road map has been set to widen the scope of academic inputs by faculty beyond the purview of the syllabi and examinations, to involve them in research activities and refurbishment and transformation of library.

In pursuance of the National Action Plan of the NAAC, for performance evaluation, assessment and accreditation and quality up gradation of institutions of higher education, an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) as a post-accreditation quality sustenance measure was established in the College in 2004. The IQAC spearheaded all the activities of the institution and as a result, the institution was Re-accredited with “A” Grade on February 7, 2007. In the post re-accreditation period, it developed a system for conscious, consistent and catalytic improvement in the performance of the institution. More laboratories equipped with latest instruments, language laboratory, and collaborative multi disciplinary research initiatives and filling up of permanent vacancies were on the course. The validity of the second cycle of reaccreditation status expired in February 2012, and the IQAC decided to opt for the Third cycle of Reaccreditation of the institution and a steering committee was formed for preparing the report and we presented ourselves for third cycle of reaccreditation and re-assessment . during March 9-11. The NAAC peer team visited the college from 9th – 11th March, 2014. Dr. Meena R.Chandawarkar, Vice Chancellor, Karnataka State Women`s University, Kerala was the chairperson, Dr. Muthamizhchelvan, Associate Director, Faculty of Engineering and Technology, SRM University and Prof. Varinder Kaur Tindall, Principal, Khalsa College for Women, Punjab were the team members. The visit was a growth promoting exercise and all stakeholders of the college got an opportunity to interact with them. We have been accredited in the third cycle with ‘A’ grade and a CGPA of 3.32 on 4 by the NAAC in 2014. Their approval and appreciation fortified our resolve to touch greater heights in all areas of education, their fruitful suggestions might help us remove the flaws.

We are engaged in an ongoing journey of continuous measurable improvements, championed by empowered teachers. The hallmark of the College is therefore marching ever onwards to greater heights of progress.

NAAC Steering Committe

It is a matter of great pleasure that this college has been assessed and reaccredited with the grade ‘A’ by NAAC in the Third Cycle with CGPA of 3.32 on four point scale at A Grade. However, no scope of complacency is there. In fact this accreditation is a constant reminder that a lot still remains to be achieved.

Convener: Dr. Sr. Lilly P.V. (Dr. Sr. Rose Ann) (Principal)
Co-ordinator: Dr. R. Girija – Criteria VII

Joint Co-ordinators:

  • Sr.Gisala George (Physical Education)
  • Ms. Deepa N (Sociology)
  • Dr. M. Lakshmi (Physics)
  • Dr. G. Praseedha (English)
  • Sr.Louly (Commerce)
  • Dr.Divya Nair (Chemistry)
  • Dr.Priya Vinod (Computer Applications)


  • Nithya (Mathematics)
  • Mariamma (Physics)
  • Taniya Antony (Chemistry)
  • Renju Krishna V (Botany)
  • Biji CP ( Zoology)
  • Shyamala C.G. (English)
  • Remya John (Commerce)
  • Shyni E.T. (History)
  • Shaini V.P. (Sr. Sairupya)(Bio-Technology)
  • Akhila (Computer Science)
  • Rita Mary Thomas (Physical Education)
  • Jane Maria (Computer Application)
  • Soji Thomas (Librarian)